TR Register Forum

The TR Register Australia Inc. forum dedicated to Sidescreen TRs and Derivatives
It is currently Mon Oct 26, 2020 9:25 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Speed Calculator
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:48 am
Posts: 110
I have an Android app called Ulysee Speedometer which gives speed via GPS. I made a small wooden tray just behind the gear lever to hold my phone, and ran a USB charging cable under the carpet. Had to set up a cigarette lighter socket under the dash to take the USB plug. Works fine but you have to look down all the time to see it.

Has anyone had a look at other GPS digital displays. Thought I might be able to mount one between the tacho and speedo somehow if it is not too big.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speed Calculator
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 5:05 pm
Posts: 332
I use a GPS app on my phone and use an iPhone windscreen mount beside the mirror. Charging plug under the dash.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speed Calculator
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:19 am
Posts: 180
I have Navmii on our tablet and phone. It gives the speed I am travelling at as well as the current speed limit. Jenny tells me what I am doing and she tells me if I am going too fast. At the same time the device beeps loudly. Not that I really need it; I have been driving for over 50 years and know how fast I am going. Still I have been investigating a digital speedometer because the speedos in my other two old cars are also hopeless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speed Calculator
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:25 am
Posts: 102
Has any one tried one of thi types of digital speedometers.
https://www.kogan.com/au/buy/gps-car-head-display/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speed Calculator
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:40 pm
Posts: 172
I have a HUD (heads up display) on my phone but find that I get two images due to the laminated screen. How did you overcome this?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group